International trail running stars team up for adidas INFINITE TRAILS World Championships in Gastein (AUT) - Trailer

From 27 to 30 June, the top stars of the international trail running scene will meet in the Gastein Valley to race side by side in relay teams of 3 for the adidas INFINITE TRAILS World Champions title. Although registration in all three race categories, women, men and mixed, is still ongoing, it is already evident that the innovative race mode is leading to extraordinary team constellations, promising exhilarating duels on the three relay loops. The progressive race format of the adidas INFINITE TRAILS World Championships is directed at passionate trail runners from all over the globe who want to fight as a team for the title relay world champion as well as those who simply set their goal in mastering the challenge of covering 126km and 7.800vm in the breath-taking Gastein mountainscape. This extraordinary team sport aspect is already evident in the composition of the registered relay teams. Instead of national line-ups, many pros seize the opportunity of nurturing border-crossing friendships and to reach for the title as an international team. Of course, after a glance at the statistics, all eyes are on a team of favorites, that of double Western States Endurance Run winner, Timothy Olson (USA), triple world champion Luis Alberto Hernando (ESP) and the sky-run specialist Dmitry Mityaev (RUS), the first Russian athlete to step onto the podium of the Ultra Trail du Mont Blanc race Sur les Traces des Ducs de Savoie (UTMB® -TDS®). In the women’s category, the team of Migu Run Skyrunner World series winner (2017), Sheila Avilés (ESP), Golden Gate Dirty 30 (50K) winner Abby Levene (USA) and Karwendellauf 2018 winner Kim Schreiber (GER) will definitely have a say in the decision. Just like Zegama champion Yngvild Kaspersen (NOR), who will race together with Silver rush 50 victor Abby Mitchell (USA) and last year’s Migu Run Skyrunner World Series winner Holly Page (GBR). Another potential candidate for the win is the trio around Russian superwoman and Salomon Ultra Prinieu winner Ekaterina Mityaeva who will line up in Gastein with double Ultravasan winner Jasmin Nunige (SUI) and the surprise victor of this year’s Vibram Hong Kong 100, Lu Yangchun (CHN).

Les coups de coeur